Collections

1753, St. Petersburg - 1802, St. Petersburg

The Vigil of Alexander the Great

1780-е

  • Marble 112 x 123 x 81
  • Ск-331

  • Пост.: 1927 из ГЭ, Ленинград


The sculptor took the image of the ancient hero as the embodiment of moral ideals which were worked out by the thought of the Enlightenment of the 18th century: Kozlovsky depicted the education of Alexander's firm will, which helps him to resist sleep. At the same time, the sculptor glorified the love of this hero for enlightenment: the scroll of the Iliad near him is an evidence of taste and education. The original plot motif, chosen by the sculptor, fully corresponded to the moralizing tendencies that were developing in his work during the 1780s. Creating a statue, Kozlovsky shows a powerful figure of a resting warrior, full of vitality. Its majestic peace is imbued with an inner readiness for rapid movement. This work is a very distinct example of the artistic thinking of Kozlovsky, whom his contemporaries compared with the great Michelangelo.

The compositional balance of the volumes, rhythmic completeness and thoughtfulness of each line is felt in the sculpture. In general, the sculpture was designed for a frontal viewpoint, which characterizes the gradual adoption of the aesthetic system of classicism in the Russian sculpture. Even decorative effects in the arrangement of attributes and draperies do not overshadow that sense of severity and restraint of the plastic feeling that distinguishes the marble figure of Alexander the Great.

Alexander of Macedon (356-323 BC) – a king of Macedonia (from 336 BC), an outstanding commander. Born in the family of the Macedonian king Philip II, he was brought up in the Spartan spirit, and the ancient Greek philosopher Aristotle was engaged in his education. At the age of 16 the boy joined the military. After the death of his father, he led the Hellenistic army of the Greek states against the barbarians. As a result of crushing victories he captured Persia and many cities in the Mediterranean and Egypt. He created a huge empire, which disintegrated after the death of the 33-year-old commander.


«Виртуальный Русский музей» в социальных сетях:

Коллекция Государственного Русского музея

1753, Санкт-Петербург – 1802, Санкт-Петербург

Бдение Александра Македонского

1780-е

  • Мрамор 112 x 123 x 81
  • Ск-331

  • Пост.: 1927 из ГЭ, Ленинград


Образ античного героя послужил скульптору для воплощения нравственных идеалов, выработанных просветительской мыслью ХVIII века: Козловский изобразил воспитание твердой воли Александра, которой он противится сну. Одновременно ваятель прославил любовь своего героя к просвещению: около него свиток "Илиады" — свидетельство вкуса и образованности. Оригинальный сюжетный мотив, избранный скульптором, вполне соответствовал морализирующим тенденциям, которые развивались в его творчестве 1780-х годов. Создавая статую, Козловский показывает мощную фигуру отдыхающего воина, исполненную жизненной силы. Ее величавый покой пронизан внутренней готовностью к стремительному движению. Это произведение очень характерно для художественного мышления Козловского, которого современники сравнивали с великим Микеланджело.

В скульптуре ощущается композиционная уравновешенность объемов, ритмическая завершенность и продуманность каждой линии. В целом скульптура рассчитана на фронтальную точку зрения, характеризует постепенное утверждение в русской скульптуре эстетической системы классицизма. Даже декоративные эффекты в расположении атрибутов и драпировок не затмевают того ощущения строгости и сдержанности пластического чувства, которое отличает мраморную фигуру Александра Македонского.

Александр Македонский (356—323 гг. до н.э.) — царь Македонии (с 336 г. до н.э.), выдающийся полководец. Родился в семье македонского царя Филиппа II, воспитывался в спартанском духе, его образованием занимался древнегреческий философ Аристотель. С 16 лет вступил на военную стезю. После смерти отца возглавил эллинистическую армию греческих государств в борьбе против варваров. В результате сокрушительных побед захватил Персию, многие города Средиземноморья и Египта. Создал огромную империю, которая распалась после кончины 33-летнего полководца.


«Виртуальный Русский музей» в социальных сетях: