About the project

The web portal “The Virtual Russian Museum” unites the projects of the Russian Museum in the field of Information Technology.

Using possibilities of modern means of communication and up to date computer technology, the Russian Museum has become the initiator and coordinator of creating of a new cultural and information environment that enables to widen the spheres of use of scientific, educational programs suggested for spreading and popularisation of knowledge on history of Russian culture and art.

The web portal enables the user to get access to the collection of the Russian Museum that is the largest collection of national art, make a tour round the museum's rooms, visit real and virtual exhibitions as well as get acquainted with the innovative projects of the museum such as the Multimedia Centre in the Western Guardhouse of St. Michael's Castle, the online Lecture Hall, "The Augmented Reality in the Russian Museum" and others.

A considerable part of the web portal is devoted to the implementation of the project “The Russian Museum: the Virtual Branch” that was started in 2003 and embodies the idea of accessibility to the largest collection of Russian art via creating information and educational centres in Russia and abroad.

The history of the project’s development is available at the previous version of the web portal “The Russian Museum: the Virtual Branch” at www.virtualrm.spb.ru

Design by Museum Plus

Development and support – Museum Plus


  • АФК «Система»
  • МТС
  • БФ «Система»

О проекте

Портал «Виртуальный Русский музей» призван объединить проекты Русского музея в области информационных технологий.

Используя возможности современных средств коммуникаций и новейших компьютерных технологий, Русский музей стал инициатором и координатором формирования новой культурно-информационной среды, позволяющей расширить сферы применения научно-просветительских, образовательных программ для распространения и популяризации знаний по истории российской культуры и искусства.

Портал позволяет получить доступ к коллекции Русского музея, крупнейшему собранию отечественного искусства, совершить прогулку по дворцовым залам, посетить реальные и виртуальные выставки, а также познакомиться с инновационными проектами музея: Центр мультимедиа в Западной кордегардии Михайловского замка, online-лекторий, «Дополненная реальность в Русском музее» и другими.

Значительная часть Портала посвящена реализации проекта "Русский музей: виртуальный филиал" - международный проект, который реализуется с 2003 года и воплощает идею доступности крупнейшей коллекции русского искусства путем создания информационно-образовательных центров в России и за рубежом.

История развития проекта доступна на предшествующей версии Портала «Русский музей: виртуальный филиал» по адресу: www.virtualrm.spb.ru

Дизайн – «Музей Плюс»
Разработка и поддержка – «Музей Плюс»


  • АФК «Система»
  • МТС
  • БФ «Система»