Google Arts & Culture

Google Arts & Culture - a project of the Google Company, an acknowledged leader in the market of multimedia technology, includes a selection of high quality images of works of art from famous museums and art galleries around the world. The project enables users to take virtual tours round the museum’s rooms and the high quality digitising of works of art allows users not only to view but also to explore in detail masterpieces of the art world.

The State Russian Museum in 2012 became one of the first Russian Museums taken part in the Google Arts & Culture along with the State Hermitage, The State Tretyakov Gallery, The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts and the Museum named after Nicholas Roerich. Every year the number of participants is growing. More than a thousand museums and archives are taking part in the project, more than 300,000 works of art are presented and from the collection of the Russian Museum there are 51 masterpieces.

As part of the Google Arts & Culture in the Russian Museum panoramic photography was carried out in 36 rooms of the main museum’s exposition in the Mikhailovsky Palace, in the Summer Garden and the Mikhailovsky Garden,  Cour d'honneur of the Mikhailovsky palace, the inner yard of St. Michael’s Castle and Klenovaya  avenue. In February 2012 the staff of the Google company  took a gigapixel photography of Karl Brullov’s painting  «The Last Day of Pompeii».

Gigapixel image

The projects of the Google are vivid and advancing, they are discovering not only enormous material  for specialists and lovers of art all around the world but they are also becoming a platform of communication about the main direction of museum’s activities in the popular project Google Art Talks. In 2013 the Russian Museum took part in the video conference «Art Talk with the State Russian Museum». The topic of the video conference was «Computer technologies in the sphere of culture: breaking the virtual field of the painting».

The head of the department and the employees of the department of the development of the project «The Russian Museum: the Russian Museum» as well as the heads of the virtual branches of the Russian Museum of the St. Petersburg State University and the Turku Adult Education Centre all took part in the event.


  • АФК «Система»
  • МТС
  • БФ «Система»

Google Arts & Culture

Google Arts & Culture – проект компании Google, признанного лидера на рынке мультимедиа технологий, включающий в себя собрание высококачественных изображений произведений искусства из известных музеев и художественных галерей мира. Проект даёт возможность совершать виртуальные прогулки по залам музеев, а высокоточная оцифровка произведений искусства позволяет не только увидеть, но и детально рассмотреть шедевры мирового искусства.

Государственный Русский музей в 2012 году стал одним из первых российских музеев, принявших участие в проекте Google Arts & Culture наряду с Эрмитажем, Третьяковской галереей, ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина и Музеем имени Н.К. Рериха. Каждый год количество участников растёт. В проекте принимают участие около 250 партнёров, представлено более 45 000 произведений искусства, 50 из которых – шедевры из коллекции Русского музея.

В рамках проекта Google Arts & Culture в Русском музее была осуществлена панорамная съёмка 36 залов основной экспозиции музея, расположенной в Михайловском дворце, панорамные съёмки на территории Летнего и Михайловского садов, курдонера Михайловского дворца, внутреннего двора Михайловского замка и Кленовой аллеи. В феврале 2012 года сотрудниками компании Google была произведена гигапиксельная фотосъёмка картины Карла Брюллова «Последний день Помпеи».

Гигапиксельное изображение

Проекты Google – живые, развивающиеся, они открывают не только колоссальный материал для специалистов, любителей искусства во всём мире, но и становятся площадкой, позволяющей рассказать об основных направлениях деятельности музеев в популярном проекте Google Art Talks. В 2013 году Русский музей принял участие в видеовстрече «Art Talk with the State Russian Museum» («Беседы об искусстве с Русским музеем»). Тема встречи «Computer technologies in the sphere of culture: breaking the virtual field of the painting» («Компьютерные технологии в сфере культуры: вход в картину»).

В беседе приняли участие руководитель и сотрудники отдела развития «Русский музей: виртуальный филиал», а также руководители виртуальных филиалов Русского музея в городах Санкт-Петербург (Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет) и Турку (Народный финскоязычный институт).


  • АФК «Система»
  • МТС
  • БФ «Система»